A Tale of Two Philips

Philip Turner

from Inspector Lynley Mysteries: in Divine Proportion

35a26e69-4eea-4c4c-ade6-1bfbf927d550

Philip Durrant

from Marple: Ordeal by Innocence

b9e0045b-934a-4374-93db-6d3a1fcfbb6f

Both suspects in two different murder mysteries.

Philip Durrant is a disagreeable fellow who ends up in a wheel-chair, due to Polio. Think: Guy of Gisborne, in wool instead of leather.

e3f735af-b806-493b-927c-dd57bbf9de93

Philip has been trying to get control of his wife’s money, while having countless affairs through the years.

there's a lady-friend behind that door *shh*
there’s a lady behind that door *shh*

His wife seems a bit uptight

ice cold

but that’s no reason to prey on her emotionally unstable, younger sister.

-is that hair barrette serving a purpose? I must know!-
is that hair barrette serving a purpose? I must know!

I’m not really a fan of this Philip. In fairness though, we don’t learn a whole lot about his character. Maybe he was never hugged as a child.

Heinz, is that you?
Heinz, is that you?

Now Philip Turner, on the other hand, I like much better.

Majesty
Majesty

In a I-know-I-should-stay-away but I-just-can’t-help-myself kind of way. Why is that? The opening scene, with the unmistakable voice, making all kinds of positive noise perhaps?  This Philip is the “other man” to a married woman. We’re led to believe that it’s nothing close to love, but if the man wants to spend the night, let him! Waking up to this:

0416a8be-beee-458d-8dd7-52e7128e4b5a

would not be a bad thing (and might have kept you alive, just sayin’).

Philip did take part in the town “secret” though,

-should we paint the town red?... no, that only works if you're Clint Eastwood-
helpful suggestion: paint the town red. it worked for Clint Eastwood!

and suffered for it.

-I won't look where they're all looking, I won't!-
I won’t look where they’re all looking, I won’t!

So what do you think? Do both Philips belong in the Loathe Him club, or should Turner get a pass?

83b65906-816d-4492-8636-6224934b2a84

23 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Philips

  1. That opening scene in Inspector Lynley, shadows through the gauzy curtain…and immediately hearing just that one luscious note – I knew it was him.

    Like

      1. yep, that’s the one. While I am admittedly a visual person (which is why I use so many pictures in my posts 😉 ) I’m very audio oriented as well; sounds spark my imagination wonderfully

        Like

    1. I understand, that’s why I compared Durrant to Guy. knowing that he married the wife for her money and how he had so many dalliances in the beginning, left me with a negative view of him. as I said though, we really know nothing of his character. honestly, I kind of like him better as the sour-puss in the wheel-chair than the suave man in the tux; I have no idea why!

      Like

        1. yes, there’s that but I think it’s more that you know he’s being himself, disagreeable though that may be. he’s not trying to charm anyone or get in anyone’s good graces, he’s just being him.

          Like

  2. Well- to use my mothers words, Turner isn’t a good marriage prospect. But I wouldn’t throw him out of bed! Yep-I’d have a tawdry affair with him..

    Like

    1. she’s already married, so i think she’s not exactly looking for marriage material. aside from his somewhat arrogant attitude, I think he’s a decent bloke underneath. (and before you even go there, I meant that innocently!)

      Like

  3. A difficult comparison! Both vintage Armitage characterisations. Christie (and the lovely, but) Miss Marple series are simplistic in terms of characters. Christie was more marvellous plot. The Lynley series (and Ms. George) were/are as much character-driven – especially Barbara! And there seemed just more space for the actor to explore some levels of complexity and nuance.

    Like

    1. I liked the overall Lynley story better. the Marple one was too focused on trying to confuse you, so you seconded guessed yourself about who really committed the murders; while the Lynley story was just taking the viewer along, as the evidence was investigated.

      Like

  4. That was Dame Agatha: ground-breaking for her time. Only, I was not intrigued by her characters. Stereotype. I have some reservations about Ms. George’s upper class characters as a bit stereotype. But plots and characters both drive the mystery and the plots. And the one Lynley episode did give Mr. A a better palette on which to paint. And on-screen, the “upper class” acting was more convincing, perhaps than the book characters. (just one opinion)

    Like

  5. Thank you for the post. These where my first two RA characters that I ever saw back in 2005-2006 on PBS. They didn’t leave me wanting more at that time, it took Guy to do that to me. I should re watch both of these now to see how I react to them now.

    Like

Leave a comment