What’s Under Those Glasses?

I said that the first film I saw Richard Armitage in was The Hobbit but technically I saw him in Captain America first, I just didn’t realize it until later.

Heinz with gun in Parlor
  take a good look, future-you insists!

Initially I didn’t like Heinz Kruger. he was the villain, after all.

Guy shoulder gif
             villains need love too

His suit was ill-fitting, his glasses too large, his hair too pristine.

plaid suit
              tighter is always better

As I watched the Nazi scientist observe an experiment that would turn a slight unimpressive boy into a superhuman hero, the emotions I saw cross his face hinted at more than the stiff drab man I was being presented with.

Heinz glasses

Anticipation, Awe, Determination; Heinz was going to attempt to steal the secret of that ground breaking technology for his country.

Heinz suit
                                            Patriot or Villain?

The experiment proceeds, lights explode, chaos ensues and Heinz seizes his chance; now he’s off and running!

Heinz on the run

As he ran through the streets on those long legs, hair disheveled and glasses missing, I found myself suddenly liking him.

Lucas legs gif
      the legs, they work every time

Captain America was pursuing Heinz through the busy city streets with his superhuman stealth *bites nails in suspense* When Heinz made his escape in the get-away submarine, I finally relaxed back into my seat. But then he gets plucked out of the water and thrown onto the bank like a gaping fish!

Heinz flying
                     watch out, he’s a slippery sucker!

Captain America grabs Heinz by the collar to rough him up and *gasp*

Capt America roughs Heinz up

THAT was hiding under those glasses?!

Before I could truly get my swoon on though, that devious Heinz Kruger poisoned himself and died!

dirty Guy
                                         nasty business, dying all the time

Now I’ll never know if Heinz was an evil Nazi or just chasing his scientific dream. Was he a love ’em and leave ’em ladies man? A misguided hot mess?

Heinz bloody lip
                                            I vote “hot mess”

I…just… it’s so unfair!

sad Standring gif
                        *nods* it is

The movie continued, the good guy won (sort of) and although I did think of that attractive villain with the pale blue eyes and wet hair after I left the theatre, I eventually forgot all about him.

PS parkbench close-up
      linger on, your pale blue eyes

Why didn’t I look him up, like I often do with unknown actors who catch my eye? Would I have been open to Armitage Admiration sooner if I had?

Lucas downcast eyes/chin gif
  ‘you’re not ready, I understand’

 

Lucas looks back with smile gif
       ‘don’t worry, we’ll meet again’

I’m here now though, that’s what matters.

Spongebob worship gif

16 thoughts on “What’s Under Those Glasses?

  1. LOL! I didn’t see Captain America until after The Hobbit. Wonder if I would have noticed him if I had. It just kills me that he was doing all this publicity for CA and TH in NYC before I knew about him! Would have *stalked* him for sure! 😀

    Like

    1. I feel this odd sense of guilt, like how did I not fall for him instantly or even know that he and his work existed? how many times did I pass by close to something he had done, but didn’t push that button to view, rent, etc.? I’m glad it came softly though, I’d rather enjoy him for who he is than only what he looks like

      Like

      1. I know!! I actually started to watch North & South on Netflix and turned it OFF! What is wrong with me??? And friends of mine were watching Robin Hood, even mentioned him, and I didn’t get it. Weird. Well at least we found him now. 😀

        Like

        1. I did the same thing with North and South, only on public television. Even when I saw him interviewed on a docuseries about “The Cosume Drama”. Still haven’t watched N&S.
          And the same was true of RH for a long time. I only was persuaded to be interested in it some time later.
          Even with Spooks, I came late to the party, having been an irregular viewer of the show until Lucas North came on.
          And, despite my geek cred, and having seen The Avengers 3 times and Thor once, I still haven’t seen Captain America. (And despite the presence of Mr. Armitage, I don’t know if I want to even now. Go figure).

          So do I feel an odd sense of guilt that I didn’t notice his wondrousness before? Do I wish I could have gone and hung out and stalked him at all his public events. Oddly enough, no.
          I actually feel that there is a slight advantage to being a newbie over being a long-term fan. All actors have troughs in productivity which leave their fans longingly surfing the net, looking for tidbits of information or performance or interviews they’ve missed.
          I’ve certainly experienced this, but to become a Richard Armitage fan when Spooks/Strikeback and/or The Hobbit were in the news is like your birthday or Christmas every day. There’s so much stuff everywhere to read and watch and listen to.
          I also wouldn’t probably have gone to any of the publicity events because there’s so little time to interact with someone you admire at those things, if you manage to get close to them at all. I used to go to cons regularly and still catch one every once in a while, but now other stuff with big crowds doesn’t attract me.

          Like

          1. I hear you. I am just desperate to see RA in real life, even if it is from afar. Don’t want to take pics with him or anything like that! Just want to see him. Dream is to interact, of course, but not on the red carpet!! LOL!

            Like

  2. I was the same – watched N&S, thought “he’s quite tasty” but didn’t get obsessed until I watched it again a few months later. I think he’d been lurking in my mind all that time without me realising it!

    Heinz is cute once he ditches the glasses, I agree – but alas there’s no ambiguity as he dies hailing Hydra…

    Love that shot of him running. It has so much momentum. (And he looks beautiful, but that sort of goes without saying).

    Like

    1. I sometimes secretly root for the bad guy because it pulls the story along, make that hero work for our praise! A really good “bad guy” is one who confuses you and makes you question your loyalties. Red Skull was an egomaniac intent on ruling the world, no real dilemma there. whereas Heinz could have tapped into humanity a bit more, like he at least had some principles or maybe a struggle of conscious at one time, etc. I think the character was snuffed out to soon, whether he had been played by someone other than Richard or not

      Like

  3. I am bit like you. I watched CA and actually did not recognise RA *at all*! Full RA-obsession had not set in, two years ago, anyway, but I was already aware of him, having seen him in N&S. For me it actually was a late-night viewing of Spooks 9.6 (I think) which brought out the RAsh. Funny that.

    Like

    1. a random late night viewing of Spooks, or had you been watching it in order? because I can’t fathom watching Lucas for three seasons and not falling for Richard…

      Like

      1. (Sorry, late reply) Random late night zapping through channels on TV brought me to Spooks. It was only when I recognised RA as one of the characters that I was hooked. Mr Thornton reincarnated as a sexy spy – what’s not to love. From then I watched those late-night re-runs every week. To the bitter end of season 9. It was a pretty steep decline into RA obsession, which manifested itself in him becoming part of my thesis for college. Mad. (I regret nothing.)

        Like

  4. Lol, I actually saw him briefly on Robin Hood while zapping on TV and that was a few years ago. But he only caught my attention when I saw an interview he gave for a Portuguese TV for the promotion of The Hobbit and I was smitten then. After that and after seeing the Hobbit started my quest to see everything as much of RA’s previous works as I could. I must say I haven’t completed this quest and I’m finding it hard to complete it, lol. But it shall be done. eventually 😉 And Captain America is on that list!

    Like

    1. I’ve not completed the list yet either, though I’ve seen all of the big ones and quite a few of the small ones as well. I find myself rewatching a lot, always finding things I didn’t see before. so even when I do complete that list, I won’t be “done”, not by a long shot 🙂

      Like

      1. 😀 I rewatch a lot too, for the same reasons you do. Small expressions, gestures that I hadn’t noticed before. I haven’t watched more of the stuff he’s done because I just can’t find it or it’s expensive. Like “Golden Hour” the DVD on Amazon.UK sellers are selling it for 50GBP… In the meantime I’ll keep rewatching 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

