Wee Bonnie Boat

I was part of a discussion this past week that loosely touched upon a popular element of fandom: Shipping.

use UPS, to get it there overnight!

use UPS, to get it there overnight!

Shipping is when one has a fondness for a specific romantic pairing, either in regards to fictional characters or real life people.

*insert choice here*

*insert choice here*

Unfortunately sides are often taken where shipping is concerned- either in opposition to the pairing itself, or just the practice in general.

tumblr_mo1t6csPRD1ql9ebno7_250

tumblr_mo1t6csPRD1ql9ebno3_250

tumblr_mo1t6csPRD1ql9ebno8_250

I was made aware of some negative murmurings that were the result of my conversation, so I thought I’d take this opportunity to clarify a few things:

but you're brothers! I know your mother taught you better than that..

but you’re brothers! I know your mother taught you better than that

In regards to Fan-Fiction:

It’s fiction, anything is possible.

e918c38b-c8df-4ee4-91cb-f8021c5cdc2b

listen to the lady, Thornton. anything.

We all have our preferences in ships, styles, etc. but just because some may not share our preferences, we should not automatically assume that they will then prevent us from enjoying them.

In regards to Real Life pairings:

I’m aware that there are those who feel that since a celebrity is far removed from our everyday realities, then that is akin to fiction and so the same sentiments apply. I do not agree with that, but again, my views do not automatically cancel out anyone’s preference for those Real Life pairings; whether they be fact or just hopeful suspicions.

I’d ship this. if I was into that sort of thing.

Sometimes these two different areas of shipping merge into the form of

Real Person Fiction:

This is when a fan-fiction story is written involving Real Life people as characters in a fictional setting. I’ve read a few RPF in my time but didn’t care for them, for various reasons.

I don't want to know

do I really want to know what put that look on his face?

I realize that others enjoy these stories though, so I won’t try to prevent them from reading what they prefer.

I’m sensing a theme here

If someone does not feel the same as I do in regards to shipping or fan-fiction, this does not mean that lines need to be automatically drawn.

so that's "no" to Alan, then?

so that’s a no to Alan, then?

We can chose to discuss our differing opinions in an exchange of ideas, or we can just agree to disagree. Our approach should not turn into a quest to bring others over toΒ our side.

ec7c339f-19e0-484f-b1af-3ddb6b92a73f

Geraldine: I quite like the Bible.

Harry: Oh, a bit far fetched for my tastes.

Geraldine: Right. Fair enough.

When I do share my personal opinions, I try to do so honestly but respectfully. Which is why I often resort to lighthearted comments, as a way to double-check myself.

sorry, what were you saying?

If I offend anyone, or if someone would just like to discuss something in greater detail with me, feel free to use the contact form located on the “about” page of this blog. I enjoy conversing with others on a variety of subjects.

780312f5-df36-4f04-a884-c5a56ff7fea5

“variety” may be the wrong word…

Fandoms are families. Differing views and disagreements will arise, it’s how we handle them that sets us apart from other fandoms.

"I just ask you to look after each other."

“I just ask you to look after each other.”

When your need to be right overshadows the simple joy of sharing in the enjoyment, I would strongly urge you to reevaluate why you are here, in this particular fandom.

"To live and let live, without clamour for distinction"

“To live and let live, without clamour for distinction”

Our light will shine brighter together.

24 thoughts on “Wee Bonnie Boat

  1. Servetus says:

    You’ve chosen the sane position, but good luck with it. If you’re referring to the thing that occurred at imdb — that’s an old story, much, much older than the conversation at Velvet’s blog, and it’s not going to be influenced by rational discussion now (if that had ever been possible). If you’re not, ignore this comment. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • one led to the other (along with me discovering those past skeletons, because I’m often too curious for my own good πŸ˜‰ ) but I just didn’t want my saying I don’t like something to be seen as an endorsement against it

      Like

      • Servetus says:

        The biggest lesson to me about all of this is that people essentially hear / believe what they want to hear / believe. I read descriptions of myself on the net that have no bearing on things I actually did or said and think, “ok, if you need to believe that’s who I am, I guess I can’t change it.” So people who believe you want to endorse or not endorse will count you as an ally almost independently of what you say. Not that that’s comforting.

        Like

  2. bollyknickers says:

    Well said, Kelbel. I have no idea what specific incidents you might be referring to as i have been a bit absent from Armitageworld for a few weeks, but i wholeheartedly agree with your ‘live and let live’ philosophy.

    On a more important note – is that RA’s bottom in the middle picture? And, if so, was he in character or at a red carpet event? I need to know these things. In other words, is it RA who wears black trunk undies or is it just Lucas? πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Servetus says:

      I asked someone else last week *what event that was* and got no answer. It definitely looks like him but I can’t think of an occasion on which he wore that in a setting a like that … ?

      Like

      • bollyknickers says:

        I was wondering if it was taken during location filming of Spooks. TBH, i thought he was reticent about meeting fans while in character but i guess he did it during Black Sky so maybe if he is done for the day, he is happy to go over and say hello…

        Like

        • Servetus says:

          I think Spooks is a decent possibility given what he has on. But there have been several pictures of him with fans *after* a day of Spooks shooting. Maybe that’s what this was πŸ™‚ Glad he had on the black shorts, though πŸ™‚

          Like

        • do that many fans generally show up to the filming of a television show? he wore that green t-shirt a lot as Lucas, and we know that Lucas wears boxer-briefs because of his strip-down in a certain episode πŸ˜‰

          Like

          • Servetus says:

            no, but they sometimes have to block off stuff for filming, and then people gather to see what’s up. It varied. There are some vids of him shooting where there’s practically no one there, as well. A lot of times they shot Spooks (esp series 8) just in the middle of normal London pedestrian traffic. There was a story about someone running into him on the street and then realizing about three minutes later that they must have been shooting.

            Like

  3. bollyknickers says:

    Agreed. There is a time and place for the peaches – and that wasn’t it.

    Or did you mean you are pleased he chose black trunks and not union jack boxers or a thong…

    It might seriously damage my fantasies if he wore a thong!

    Like

    • Servetus says:

      a contrasting color would have been embarrassing. I don’t really care about the style so much. Presumably Mr Armitage knows about this problem and dresses to accommodate it πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Joanna says:

    πŸ˜€ I love “your world” and your sense of humor,Kelbel.
    I’m sensing that you met the Grand Inquisitor πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • no, I just lurked through some old conversations. I’ve formed my own opinions based on those & some educated guesses. my thoughts relating to those incidents are probably not popular ones though, so I’d rather not reopen those old wounds here πŸ˜‰ this is a happy place & I’d like it to stay that way

      Like

  5. KatharineD says:

    I enjoyed reading your post- I love the way you choose to illustrate your points. Must be a lot of fun hunting up appropriate visuals!

    Like

Leave a Reply

