Udderly Outlandish!

I’m currently in the process of re-reading my favorite book, Outlander. It’s being made into a television series, did you hear?

-No, I did not (this is an RA blog, right?)-
No, I did not (this is a RA blog, right?)

Anyway, I came across a part about money and, well, here’s the passage:

“…my share of the Mackenzie rents comes to about twenty pounds a quarter… and that’s Scots, not Sterling. About the price of half a cow.”

-fascinating-
fascinating

Twenty Pounds… Half a Cow

-should I know this one?-
should I know this one?

so now, the fact that in 1743 the Scots equivalent of twenty pounds could buy you half a cow,

-oh, right! that's from Martin-
oh, right! that’s from Martin

will be added to the enormous stash of useless facts inside my head, that I will never need but always remember.

you could find need? right. never.-
you could find need? right. never.

Thanks, boys!

tumblr_miw14eDFX11qc5k7uo3_500

P.S. I make no apologies for the title of this post. because puns are funny.

tumblr_mgg627Mf0U1qlxqx8o4_r1_500

25 thoughts on “Udderly Outlandish!

        1. I relate everything in my life to Richard or one of his characters, it seems, so I run across these “coincidences” a lot; I think Richard has hot-wired my brain.

          Like

    1. when I first saw the “60 seconds” interview, I got stuck on the “20lbs=half a cow” thing. I had to go look it up to see how much half a cow really weighed in “pounds” and what 20lbs equaled in Metric…so maybe it would catch my attention more than it would other people but we all love that interview, so I knew the gifs would be appreciated 😉

      Like

      1. My math is horrible but I’m guessing that 20lbs is about 8 kilos~?
        I remember when I watched that interview I laughed when Martin mentioned that 20lbs was about half a cow. Richard’s expression was priceless~!

        Like

        1. I think it’s a bit over 9 kilos. half a cow equals around 200 lbs., but it depends on the cow really 😉

          you hear that Richard? next time pick the 20lbs rather than shaving your head!

          Like

  1. Hi Kelbel, Thanks for the huge smile in my face. I had read that scene soooo many times, and watched the interview , but I had never made the connection before. Love it!

    PD: I’m really excited because they’re making Outlander into a series (finally!) Althoug, I’m not sure that Ill be able to watch it so soon in my country 😛

    Like

    1. another “Outlander” fan! 🙂 I’ve been waiting for them to do something with this story for years, I’m so glad it’s finally happening. I will be subscribing to Starz before the Spring, it’s a must 😉

      Like

        1. while talking about it with my mom, my dad heard me say I’m going to have to subscribe to watch it. he suggested I just wait and rent the series when it’s over. my mom and I both looked at him like he just grew two heads *laughs* Jamie cannot wait! 🙂

          Like

    1. yes, that’s the one 🙂 I’ve been reading, and rereading, this series for over 15 years! I’m very happy that it’s finally getting it’s due, and so many people are discovering it for the first time because of that 🙂

      Like

  2. Brilliant 😉 particularly like the last gif of the giggle! That 60 seconds is completely addictive. As an aside, £20 sounds to me like an awful lot for half a cow in 1743…

    Like

  3. Half a cow?? 200 Ibs? That much? That could be approx. RA’s weight.
    There will be a Starz Outlander? Have to subscribe. Time travel – yes.
    Barbara Erskine: Lady of Hay, anyone?

    Like

    1. yes, half a cow would be close to Richard’s weight which is why I found it so funny that Martin equated that to 20 lbs. would I rather gain 200lbs or shave my head? I’d go with the shaved head too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

