Delayed Gratification

I avoided watching North & South for the longest time.

*don't panic, let her finish*

*don’t panic, let her finish*

It seemed like just another Mr. Darcy-Pride & Prejudice deal to me.

I don't remember *this* happening in P&P...

I don’t remember *this* happening in P&P…

I liked Pride & Prejudice, but I just wasn’t up for that kind of frustrating delayed gratification at the moment. Plus, I was pretty sure Margaret would get on my last nerve, with her strong-mindedness and prejudice towards the working class northerners.

Finally one evening after watching Vicar of Dibley with some internet friends in a chat session, we decided to tackle North & South the following night.

*Huh. Harry doesn't seem like the Purple Porsche type*

*Huh. Harry doesn’t seem like the Purple Porsche type*

I cheated a bit though, finding the kissing scene on youtube the next day

and watching it too many times to count.

I was pleasantly surprised with North & South.

For starters, I didn’t hate Margaret.

*wait. why would she not like me?*

*wait. why would she not like me?*

Her decisions annoyed me but she was quite likable, all things considered.

*oh, I don't know. your harsh rejection of me, perhaps?*

*oh, I don’t know. your harsh rejection of me, perhaps?*

And then there was Mr. Thornton.

"at your service!"

“at your service!”

There was nothing about the quiet, resolute and respectable mill owner that I did not like.

I understood John’s way of thinking and his reactions to the world around him.

I'd kick some ass too, if I were him

I’d kick some ass too, if I were him

Margaret on the other hand…

I knew why she was acting the way that she was (naivety)

but I was constantly shaking my head at her,

especially in regards to her well-meaning yet mildly offensive charity endeavors.

"when you assume, you make an ass out of u and me"

“when you assume, you make an ass out of u and me”

But after finally watching North & South

It wasn’t hard to understand what all the swooning was about!

north_and_south_teacup

24 thoughts on “Delayed Gratification

  1. *gulp* held off watching North and South… oh dear dear me….
    That’s it Missy! I am temporarily stripping you of your RA gawking privileges, now go stand in the corner and think about what you’ve done!
    No, don’t start with your crying! You disregarded Richard Armitage dressed in a cravat and top hat and I’m sorry, but you must be punished for your reckless and naughty behaviour. May this be a lesson to you and all the other naughty little girls who think John Thornton is here just to gather dust!
    You see Armitage in a cravat, you automatically press play! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. KatharineD says:

    What a joy to have just seen it for the first time. I love reading reactions from some of the young fans on tumblr who start with ‘ just off to watch N&S- don’t know if I’ll like it’, and without fail they come back 4 hours later, ‘OMG……’
    What other goodies do you still have up your sleeve?

    Like

    • this blog is just me recalling the order I saw stuff in when I first became a RA fan. I actually just purchased N&S on dvd about a month ago, after watching it several times on Netflix streaming πŸ˜‰ I still have quite a few of his films to mention on here, but as for currently what I haven’t seen? Malice Aforethought, all of Frozen, all of Between the Sheets πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I should mention that we split up the N&S mini-series into two parts for our viewing of it. the following day, after I had watched the kissing scene endlessly πŸ˜‰ I changed my signature pic on our community message board to reflect my burgeoning love of Armitage characters. Mr. Thornton is on there, even though I hadn’t actually finished watching all of N&S yet; so it’s not like I was left unaffected πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. i.f. says:

    lol
    well done – save the really really good stuff for later to enjoy even more.
    For me it was the 2nd piece of Armitage goodness after TH. But I think I would have estimated it far more if I had had the chance to read the numerous posts on the wonderful world of the wide web before watching. It is necessary to adore and admire the subtle details of the acting, the setting, the editing, the directing, the costumes, the background story, the music etc etc.
    So I had to suffer on watching it a zillion times – over and over again. πŸ™‚
    Tough job, but someone has got to do it.

    Like

    • you’re such a dedicated fan! πŸ˜‰ the whole reason I held off on the N & S is because everyone kept going on and on about how great it was…just like they go on and on about Colin Firth’s Mr. Darcy, who I don’t really swoon over *ducks* so I’m glad that I got to know a bit more about it, hear Richard talk about it in interviews, even hear a bit about the book vs. the movie, before I actually saw it πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Teuchter says:

    I’m so happy that you’ve finally seen this wonderful series for yourself and experienced what we have all been swooning over these past years. Personally, I’ve given up trying to count the number of times I’ve watched N&S – NTM the multitude of times I’ve watched the train station scene on its own! πŸ˜€ Strangely, or perhaps *not* so strangely, given who inhabited the role of Mr Thornton, I never tire of it. I think I own at least three copies of the DVD’s as it wouldn’t do to lend them out to someone only to find I wasn’t able to watch it when I was in the mood! πŸ˜‰ One *always* needs a back-up!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Astera says:

    I have to admit to tripping over the delightful Mr A by accident, thanks to our national broadcaster in Australia. They screened Robin Hood, Spooks, N&S and even Strikeback (though the subsequent SB series went to a commercial station – I still haven’t seen the fatal John Porter moments). Plus the various whodunits. If that’s how our tax $ are being put to work, am happy to keep paying for them to purchase Mr RA’s work and screen them ad free! Congratulations on completing the 30 day challenge, by the way.

    Like

    • thanks for the 30 day challenge congrats πŸ™‚ there were pros and cons to blogging everyday from set guidelines that were not my own, but overall I enjoyed it & it gave me more experience πŸ˜‰

      Like

  7. Twinsie, we have come to a parting of the ways! ;D N&S is my great delight – the first RA film I saw after TH! But I have reasons – being in Labor Relations and N&S being about a strike and all. To tell the truth, I know exactly how you felt – and I shamefacedly admit that I tried to watch N&S long before I saw TH and was left cold. One of those depressing Brit factory shows. Yawn. I have never been more wrong in all my life, as they say. πŸ™‚ So I guess we are still twinsies. YAY! πŸ˜€

    Like

  8. I admire your forbearance in waiting to see a favorite. I left The Hobbit for last because I dreaded it. Now I watch it quite often- though not as much as N & S. Let us know, as I’m sure you will, when you get to the others.

    Like

        • Teuchter says:

          Lords of the North is quite simply breathtaking – and I mean that literally! I had only bought the three Georgette Heyer audio books previously and was a little puzzled as to why so many people said LOTN was their favourite. Of course I *had* to buy it as I was so deeply into all things Armitage by that time. Needless to say it has become my favourite too even though I have since bought all the Robin Hood-related audio CD’s that have been made. LOTN certainly isn’t cheap but it is absolutely worth every cent and you’ll never regret buying it.

          As others have so eloquently said, Richard doesn’t just read this book, he *performs* it!! He was obviously joking when he said to Martin Freeman in those “60 seconds” interviews that he “couldn’t do voices”. When you are listening you totally forget that it is one man who is voicing all these various characters.

          Like

          • I agree! Richard’s “voice acting” is just as impressive as his visual acting πŸ˜‰ I greatly enjoyed “a convenient marriage” and all the different voices he did, it always makes me smile πŸ™‚ I’ve not finished all of “Lords of the north” yet but it’s like an actual movie, it’s done so well.

            Like

          • It’s definitely on my list. I’m an audio book lover and what’s preventing me is that I want to be able to load it on to my mp3 player, and I haven’t figured that out yet.

            Like

Leave a Reply

