An Honorable Discharge

“We were once a noble people, not tinkers and merchants

scraping around in the dirt for copper coins

but Dwarf Lords! Once we were Kings.”

efa947ff-3d9c-4dd6-a6ca-341111af1930

Oh Thorin, I hear you man, do I ever hear you! You were trying to reclaim your people’s good name, get back to those happier times you remembered so fondly. You felt the quest worthy, you thought others wanted to share in that rebirth. But saying and doing are two different things, aren’t they?

tumblr_mimuyn8wVR1r0t68go3_250

I’m a lover not a fighter, Thorin. What’s best for me is to find a nice little cottage to settle down in, and remove myself from the action. I’ll leave the fighting to you; and I mean ALL the fighting, especially the subtle kind. So as of this moment, I no longer consider myself part of The Armitage Army. I’m discharging, going back to being a regular Richard Armitage admiring civilian.

(I checked with Porter, he assured me that this is allowed πŸ˜› )

11b6b05d-bd74-443e-939b-fe093d619010

What does this mean?

Well, I’m still going to blog about Richard, celebrate Richard, share the things about Richard that make me admire him so darn much; I can’t give that up! What I am giving up, is the community 😐

d3c17bf0-a329-4068-8bcc-fa716c2e6159

My cottage is a friendly cottage though, so I welcome any Richard Armitage admirer, no matter your affiliations or what faction you are a part of, to stop in and have a chat with me.

7dbd1050-fca7-4665-bacc-1f490e23bb4a

This has always been about Richard for me

and so this way, it shall continue to be πŸ˜‰

~Kelbel75, a Richard Armitage civilian

anactorwhoactsquietly

Edit: for clarification on this issue, see my aside post here.

28 thoughts on “An Honorable Discharge

  1. KiplingKat says:

    Chin up. These are irrationally angry people lashing out, doing the exact same thing they were angry at others for. Do not let this weigh on you.

    Like

    • well I’ve been accused of being on the wrong side because of my friendliness, a hypocrite because I’m trying to be positive when I have been negative in the past, and ridiculed for removing myself from the Army- and what does that even mean (I have a contact form on the about page of this blog that anyone can use if they’re curious about what I mean, but I think they’d just rather complain instead πŸ˜• ) so, unfortunately, it is weighing on me. but I do have the support of some lovely people so I’ll get by πŸ™‚

      Like

        • in these instances I’m doubly glad that I haven’t been completely aloof in this fandom, that there are those who I’ve conversed with often who know what kind of person I am, so that I don’t have to worry that everyone will believe the lies 😦

          Like

          • Fortunately enough of us read what was really written this time, β€˜the editors’ were a bit slow off the mark. I know it’s regarded as a bit of a clichΓ© these days, but this poem has given me heart in dark times…
            If
            If you can keep your head when all about you
            Are losing theirs and blaming it on you,
            If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
            But make allowance for their doubting too;
            If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
            Or being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
            Or being hated, don’t give way to hating,
            And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise:

            If you can dream – and not make dreams your master;
            If you can think – and not make thoughts your aim;
            If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
            And treat those two impostors just the same;
            If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
            Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
            Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
            And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools:

            If you can make one heap of all your winnings
            And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
            And lose, and start again at your beginnings
            And never breathe a word about your loss;
            If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
            To serve your turn long after they are gone,
            And so hold on when there is nothing in you
            Except the Will which says to them: ‘Hold on!’

            If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
            ‘ Or walk with Kings – nor lose the common touch,
            if neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
            If all men count with you, but none too much;
            If you can fill the unforgiving minute
            With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
            Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
            And – which is more – you’ll be a Man, my son.

            Like

    • Cill says:

      Sometimes they are lashing out when their own actions have not quite been as noble as they like to paint them (inconvenient things, emails).

      Like

    • Cill says:

      I think that the thing for all of us to remember in this instance is
      “Worry about your character, not your reputation. Because character is who you are and reputation is only who people think you are”

      (I don’t know the source of the quote, but it’s a good one).

      Like

Leave a Reply

