Don’t Go Breaking My Heart

RA Character challenge

4.) Least Favorite Character

Percy Courtenay

This question is always a hard one for me because I see characters in layers. While some are unlikable on the surface, knowing their back-story and what they’ve had to face in life makes them more sympathetic. Someone like Philip Durant from the Miss Marple series may appear the rake but I can’t judge his present circumstances by his past mistakes, that’s just not fair. And someone like Heinz Kruger from Captain America may look like the quintessential bad guy of his time, being German alone in that setting gives him a negative connotation, but his character isn’t fleshed out enough for me to make a solid decision; there was something about him that made me think there was more to his story.

he’ll get you your pizza in 30 minutes or less, guaranteed!

There are some characters I’ve seen out of context, like William Chatford from Malice Aforethought, only having seen bits on YouTube; and there are some programs that I haven’t finished watching yet, like Ultimate Force. So, after much thought, I settled on Percy from Miss Marie Lloyd.

Percy has plenty of his own layers, getting lost and forgotten in the celebrity of his famous wife, and how emasculating and confusing that must have been for a man in that time period. But in the end, he just comes off as skeevy to me.

He was a bit stalkerish and a little pushy as a fan of Marie’s, but he gave her the confidence that she needed to move forward and he helped bring out the persistence in her that would enable her to survive in the business. He was all sweet with the way he proposed and endearing as a new father too

but he was definitely enjoying the status and financial gain that having a famous wife gave him…until he didn’t. The status belonged to her, he was only an extension. The financial boost gave him the means to further his downward spiral quicker, with booze and women and gambling and who knows what else. I shouldn’t fault him for it, he’s only human, but I expected more from him for some reason. He seemed so together in the beginning when he pursued her, he seemed so strong and virile when he proposed while shaving.

That sounds odd when said out loud: he proposed while shaving.

How is that even romantic?!

women should only ever be afterthoughts, Gisborne; romance is for the weak!

if you saw it though,

you know that it was πŸ˜‰

it doesn’t have to be grand to be romantic

I don’t despise Percy; I’ve not met a Richard Armitage character yet that has turned my stomach so much that he disgusts me. Richard may not pick the flashiest projects but he gives heart to each and every one of his characters, regardless of how they appear on the surface.

And that is what keeps me coming back for more.

13 thoughts on “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart

  1. Cill says:

    I agree about Percy, although Bill Chatford is possibly the real cad. (What about John Mulligan?)
    And Percy standing there in those white pants, topless: O.M.G.

    Like

  2. Helen says:

    Ah, poor old Percy. He started off so well too, didn’t he? Love that last gif of the eyebrows!

    I still like him better than Mulligan, though… And I like Paul Andrews too πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • yeah for liking Paul! I understand that it’s hard to see past his actions but I don’t think he was evil, like others make him out to be. I can say the same thing for John Mulligan too, though :/ I stand behind my opinion that he was not setting her up to be the drug mule on purpose, not that it excuses the fact that he involved her at all in the first place, but… Richard just makes it so darn hard to hate any of them!

      Like

      • Helen says:

        There’s something about the way Mulligan looks that slightly repels me. It’s the only character RA plays where that’s the case. (Oh, apart from the Paul Andrews flashback with the ghastly facial hair – yuk). I don’t even know what it is about Mulligan that turns me off so much… And I’m afraid I think he was setting her up as a drug mule… 😦

        Like

        • everyone except me thinks Mulligan was setting her up, so you’re in good company! πŸ˜› I feel the same way about Percy though, there’s just something about the way he looks in that character that makes me uncomfortable. I’m not sure if it’s that too clean-cut too-good-to-be-true quality or a predator vibe that I’m feeling, but it’s something.

          Like

          • Cill says:

            With Percy, for me, it’s 2 things: 1. he dresses rich but doesn’t ever seem to have money, which makes him seem like a golddigger; 2. his reaction when she tells him she is pregnant is the slow smile, as if to say that everything is going according to his plan.

            Like

          • yes! I do think he set his sights on her for a reason πŸ˜‰ and the pregnancy tied her to him in a way that was practically inescapable, in his eyes.

            Like

  3. Cill says:

    Yeah, if he’d been excited, or horrified, or afraid, these would have seem like natural reactions to me (especially for a man of that time). That smile did not.

    Like

Leave a Reply

