F-O-X

Music & More Challenge

30.) role from one of your favorite movies that you could picture RA playing

Joe Fox from You’ve Got Mail

4592589_orig

This is such a cute movie, I adore it! Kathleen Kelly owns a sweet little children’s book store, which holds sentimental value in relation to her deceased mother. Joe Fox, part of a well-known franchise family, suddenly becomes her competition. They’re business rivals…but little do they know that they’re anonymous on-line friends as well. friends who are moving towards being more than friends. It’s all about getting to know the real people we are underneath, as opposed to the one we show the world. also, what it means to have the freedom to share your true thoughts with someone, particularly someone who doesn’t know that other face.

I can appreciate the whimsey of a butterfly taking the subway. what makes you think I couldn't?

I can appreciate the whimsy of a butterfly taking the subway. what makes you think I couldn’t?

Why can I picture Richard in this role? because although Joe Fox can be arrogant, he is also quite funny and charming. he’s a sweetheart underneath that family label, who is ready to break away from expectations. I think Richard would do really well with the comedic delivery that makes up the character, while also adding that extra swoon-factor to the understanding friend aspect. No offense to Tom Hanks, he’s quite enjoyable in the role, but he’s always reminded me of my brother. so it would be nice to have a Joe Fox that could melt me.

"Don't you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address."

“Don’t you love New York in the fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.”

music question: a song from your favorite movie

Anyone at All-Carol King-You’ve Got Mail

this song is special to me because it reminds me of my son:

You could have been anyone at all
A stranger falling out of the blue
I’m so glad it was you

and the struggles he went through in regards to an early childhood speech disorder. first, with the frustration when he just couldn’t make the words come out, and then when he started school and no one could understand him. he attended speech therapy for a few years, which helped put him on the track to eventually outgrowing it. now as a smooth voiced teenager, you would never know what he went through to find that voice.

Words can hurt you if you let them
People say them and forget them
Words can promise
Words can lie
But your words make me feel like I can fly

 

3 thoughts on “F-O-X

  1. Widoedm53 says:

    I agree that this role (or one like it) would be a perfect vehicle for RA to show his sweet and sensitive/good natured side. Although he has often denied it in interviews, he does have the right look for the lead in a romantic comedy. It would be so great to see him in something light hearted and fun. Don’t get me wrong, he excels in playing dark and complex characters and is so adept at portraying them that you can’t help but be moved by his performances. But after his latest heart wrenching portrayals of John Proctor and Thorin Oakenshield I am so ready to see him on the big screen flashing that wonderful smile and finally getting the girl!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t want to see him in a remade version of this role but something like it, for exactly the reasons you stated. Richard does excel at the deeper more complex roles but I think he would also excel at the lighthearted ones too, if given a chance (he needs to give himself a chance as well…)

      Like

  2. Widoedm53 says:

    Well said..”he needs to give himself the chance as well” I read somewhere once where he said something about how he tends to go after the darker roles because they are opposite of his true self and are more challenging.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

