RA recharge

 

Two years. I’ve been blogging about Richard Armitage for two years on this blog. laughing and celebrating, discovering and contemplating. looking at pretty pictures, enjoying amusing gifs, appreciating fanvids, perusing interviews, and talking with all of you.

 

i.e. embarrassing Richard
i.e. embarrassing Richard

 

When I started out, fresh and fluffy tailed that first year, my plan was to share my journey through the Richard Armitage fandom thus far: how I went about finding information about Richard, what I thought of his various projects

 

tumblr_ngwncqfQNy1tgxoroo3_500

 

how the order in which I saw them influenced my opinions, and just generally getting to know my way around. The second year I focused more on celebrating what I liked: highlighting favorite interviews, featuring favorite fanvids and sharing what impressed me about them, touching upon current happenings in Richard’s career and the fandom itself, etc.

cuffed jeans? no, sweetie, just..no.
cuffed jeans? no, sweetie, just..no.

 

This past winter things became jumbled together for me though, I didn’t like how I was reacting to certain things or how I was letting things influence my every day life.

 

opposing opinions, they burn!
opposing opinions, they burn!

 

I needed to pull back, slowly at first and then much more thoroughly. the discovering and “researching” phase was over and the celebrating stage had dwindled…what am I supposed to do now?Β 

Β 

vlcsnap-2014-11-19-19h56m20s219

 

As most of you know, Richard is not my first celebrity crush or experience with fandom.

 

there were others before you
there were others before you

 

I know myself well enough to realize that each of those experiences came about because of a certain void in my life that needed filling. sometimes things ran their course and I moved on to something/someone new

 

tumblr_inline_nm0ja2yIzx1szgxcg

 

the void had been filled or worked through and a new one needed addressed. other times my admiration for a particular actor just evolved and my approach changed– I’m currently at that stage with Richard.

 

I still love you, I still need you.
I still love you. I still need you.

 

So while I try to figure out in what ways my fangirling will evolve, I think it would be helpful to take a look back at everything. revisit my impressions of the characters and how they speak to me to see how(if) that’s changed.

 

Porter's jeans still speak to me. loudly.
Porter’s jeans still speak to me. loudly.

 

to look back at my first impressions of Richard himself and try to better understand what it is about him that fascinates me

 

the laugh will always fascinate me
the laugh will always fascinate me

 

and whether I might rediscover some things along the way, or possibly discover something new.

I'm still holding out for cynicism
I’m still holding out for cynicism

 

I think it will be interesting and I hope it will be fun. at any rate, at least it will get me talking again. I’ve been way too quiet as of late! On to year three…

 

tumblr_nmlju3wdRX1s1oat1o1_250
20 thoughts on “RA recharge

  1. The “evolution” of fandom is such an interesting thing. I’ve been thinking a lot about this recently too as I’m coming up on three years since “discovery” myself. I’ve also reflected a lot on the fact that just as my own activities have changed over time, so too has the fandom itself…it’s a completely different place than it was in 2012. I don’t find it better or worse, just different. It’s a dynamic microcosm πŸ™‚

    I look forward to seeing where your journey takes you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • yes: not better or worse, just different. I’m different too and so I have to find where I fit, so that this can continue to be a rewarding outlet for me. now that I’ve decided to “look back” in detail, I’m actually excited about it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • and I’ve missed playing with the gif captions! my kids don’t appreciate my comments like you guys do. this morning my daughter was telling me a story about how she was “jelly” (jealous) of something or other and instead of being sympathetic, I asked her if she was Strawberry or Grape. all that got me was an eye roll.

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Yes, Happy Anniversary! I’ve been missing your RA posts while enjoying your new posts on other topics. It does evolve and it seems to have its ups and downs. And Porter’s jeans speak to me loudly, too. =)

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve enjoyed blogging about other topics too and I plan to continue doing so, but I’ve really missed blogging about the RA side of things. hopefully this is the direction I need to take in order to get back on track with that πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. SH says:

    I enjoyed learning about all your previous celeb crushes, Kelly, and I understand more now about how Richard fits into your β€œcircle of life” lol…. you were one of my early favorites last spring when I had first discovered Richard as Thornton sometime in Feb 2014 & ventured cautiously into the blogosphere πŸ™‚ Your humor and mastery of the gif caption are second to none, imho… I look forward to hearing from you whenever you are so inspired! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Damn, when I got to the middle of your post I briefly thought you were saying good bye. And that would really make me sad. I had noticed you had posted less – and recently also indulged in Dornan more than RA *tuttuttut* πŸ˜‰ So I read with great relief that you are recharging, re-evaluating. I hope you’ll let us accompany you on that re-exploration…
    Oh, and let me also add that think you described the two years/phases of fangirling really well. I certainly felt and reacted the same way as you. And I was exactly where you are at, early last year. There was a brief moment when I felt ready to chuck it in – well, exacerbated by certain things happening within the fandom. But then Phase 3 of Fangirling kicked in for me: the redirection of my focus slightly away from the reason I joined the fandom (i.e. RA) and over to the community that revolves around him. Maybe you’ll find a similar thing happening, I don’t know. But I look forward to going the next stage in your fangirling journey with you! XXX

    Liked by 2 people

    • yeah, I suspect some might be worried that I’ve left Richard behind for Jamie Dornan (his adorable charm is a force to be reckoned with. I am weak) but rest assured, that is not true. they’ve got a yin yang thing going on for me right now, and I’m just enjoying it as it goes along.

      I’ve been underground (or is that UnderHill?) in my little Hobbit hole trying to figure all this stuff out. while the time away has been productive in the sense that I was able to calmly look at things and pin-point what was happening with me, I realized that working through it on blog would be much more beneficial. you’ll all get to revisit with me and some of the fans who came in around the same time as I did might be going through something similar, so we can hammer it all out together. plus, you know, it gives me an excuse to hunt down more gifs…

      Like

      • Phew, glad to hear this all. Also glad that your time out was fruitful. I think everyone needs a little bit of distance every once in a while. Just to regain sanity and to check that priorities are still right.
        Year 3 will be exciting then. I am ready πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

    • probably a bit more of my honest thoughts and contemplations, instead of the celebrating that I’ve done thus far. Richard’s characters are made up of several layers– exploring those different parts, instead of just their makeup as a whole, could be enlightening.

      Like

  5. well, first of all happy anniversary πŸ™‚ I fully understand what you say about your own fandom evolving; i think you shouldn’t worry about it, it is only natural πŸ™‚ I am glad to hear though you’re still interested and am looking forward to anything you feel like sharing, RA -wise or other πŸ˜‰
    Glad you generally feel like posting again πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cill says:

    I’m so glad you posted, and sorry I didn’t comment here sooner, but somehow the notification of this post got buried in a bunch of pointless junk)..
    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I’m so glad you are staying and I enjoyed this look back at your RA fanning history.
    And speaking of ‘looking back’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

