Some Like It Hot

It seems there is a fair amount of speculation concerning the real Richard in interviews; how much of himself are we seeing, does he have a separate interview persona, etc. One interview that comes to my mind when contemplating this subject is the Lorraine show cooking interview, promoting Spooks series 9.

Richard during cooking segment

Richard seems quite real to me in this one. If he had established an interview “zone” by this point in time, he couldn’t quite keep a hold of it that day; flitting about from awkward to flirty, professional to silly, and back again.

We start with a little teaser from the kitchen, where we learn that Richard’s favorite take-out meal is (was?) Thia Green Curry. He tries to lighten the mood a bit by industriously wiping the counter. I remember when my kitchen counter looked all shiny and uncluttered like that (the day we moved in), it hasn’t looked the same since.

Standring and Carol clean kitchen
not quite this bad…

We cut to the interview part next, where Richard gives the famous “come and find out” quip to the question of whether or not Lucas’ tattoos are real. He can’t follow through, of course, and jokes about it being his pick-up line.

shirtless Lucas
well here I am. what were your other two wishes?

The interview itself is standard, complete with obligatory circus mention. I did find it interesting to learn that in researching their MI-5 roles, the cast were given access to US and Russian operatives but not British ones.

Lucas and Genevieve
you sound nothing like that FBI consultant

The interview wraps up and we move on to the cooking segment, where we’re graced with the lean

"the Lean" gif
how you doin?

which is then followed by Richard being left awkwardly by himself in the background.

cooking segment, Richard in background
hey! no one ignores the smoulder!!

Richard then tries his hand at food prep. We’re momentarily hypnotized by his dancing phalanges, before he shows off some impressive chopping skills. At least it’s impressive to me, since I’m the slowest chopper ever!

close-up of Richard chopping herbs

We end with a bit of bravado as Richard declares that he likes his curry “blow my head off” hot…and then he channels Smaug when he takes a bite of the finished product.

mouth agape
“I am fire, I am death!”

I like to watch this segment from time to time and cherish the awkwardness. I enjoy Richard’s current interview style of on-task-professionalism sprinkled throughout with casual dorkiness but it’s nice to be reminded that under the surface, gawky Richard is still there; there may be hope for me yet.

cooking segment, floppy haired smile

23 thoughts on “Some Like It Hot

  1. Nice one, Kel. I love that interview – although the cooking segment has a few cringe-bits in it. Especially at the end when he literally has bitten off more than he can chew: Raw chili? Big no-no, Richard!!! The poor man – I feel so sorry for him. He obviously had no idea what a raw chili does to you when he stole that bit from the chopping board. (I suspect he is not a Nigella Lawson in the kitchen *ggg*)

    Like

    1. he’s probably more efficient in the kitchen than I am, so I shouldn’t tease him too much. I cook strictly by the recipe, if it’s not on the recipe card, I don’t do it! and thank goodness for the internet, b/c I don’t know how to do half the things you’re supposed to do when cooking/baking from scratch. Mothers: teach your kids (girls *and* boys) how to cook before you let them leave the nest! I received a crash course on cooking, washing clothes and ironing 2 weeks before my wedding 😯 up until that point I could “cook” 3 things: grilled cheese, macaroni & cheese w/tuna fish (from the box 😉 ) and no-bake cookies 😆 I should point out that I was 21 when I got married, so it’s not as bad as it sounds, but I still felt helpless 😕

      Like

    1. speaking of doofy, did you catch my dancing phalanges reference? my daughter was dancing around in front of the kittens yesterday, trying to hypnotize them chanting “dancing phalanges, dancing phalanges” 😆

      Like

  2. I’ve always loved this interview (although the interviewer does screw up in the kitchen segment). (BTw I’ve always assumed that RA knew exactly what he was in for by eating those chilis. The guys I know often make it a test of manliness to eat them 😀 )

    Like

    1. yes, he was trying to act all calm, cool, and collected (that lean kills me!) as he repeatedly said he liked it hot. it was just a little *too* hot (or too early?) for comfort 😉

      Like

      1. I notice he didn’t accept any water tho 😀 (always a good plan since rice is a better choice for cooling one’s mouth).

        Like

Leave a comment