Highly Distracting

While researching the numerous examples of the audio heaven that is Richard’s voice, I came across the commercial adverts.

9cb0faeb-f49c-4150-aaa0-21826f063dad

Something that I find myself doing a lot of, is trying to guess the identity of the narrators in television commercials. Often times I will recognize an actor by his voice alone, and will then spend countless hours trying to figure out which character the voice belongs to.

tumblr_mtlwdjW7aQ1s8lq3ho7_250

The way they pronounce that certain word or phrase will end up driving me crazy until I figure it out! Yes, I could just look it up on the internet but where’s the challenge in that?

tumblr_mtlwdjW7aQ1s8lq3ho5_250

Needless to say, I like voices. So I was very curious to see what kinds of commercials Richard has lent his voice to.

tumblr_mte50sZJL71suhlrlo6_250

I think the jewelry commercials are my favorite, so sweet.

(click on titles below to listen)

Platinum jewelry

472b2412-b716-45ae-aa76-a3923b64eaf5

Palladium jewelry

3206aa80-3ca1-4f62-a68e-03811d885c7a

The Winter-Olympics one is nice too

BBC Winter Olympics

because we know Richard has a personal fondness for skiing.

d27056f1-01f8-4224-ba90-d2adc2027e76

I’m not entirely sure what the “Santander” ad is about though

Santander

I get too distracted hearing the precise way Richard enunciates Santander. I keep saying it over and over again, out loud (and also the way he pronounces customer)

sen-ten-dahrrr
sen-ten-dahrrr

Highly Distracting!

21 thoughts on “Highly Distracting

  1. Hey, can I ask how you attached the sexy sound clips in your post. I remember researching it a while back but was only available as an extra paid feature.
    BTW, whatever Richard’s selling I’m buying 😉

    Like

    1. I can hear a passion in his voice for the skiing one that isn’t there in the others. it feels like something more than just acting, and that enhances the enjoyment for me

      Like

  2. I wish they were able to get him to do commercials for other countries too. Now *there’s* a voice that could talk me into buying just about anything! 😉

    IIRC, Santander is the name of a bank. If I lived in the UK he could no doubt tempt me to switch my account over 😀

    Like

        1. BTW I love the way he says the phone number too! 🙂 For those who aren’t familiar with the Formula racing driver shown here, he is English and his name is Lewis Hamilton.

          Like

          1. I saw that one too! I wonder how many of them he did? Some of the car ads are not bad either. TBH, he could read the phone book and I’d listen to the whole thing with rapt attention 😉

            Like

  3. They really could sell a lot of things if they used him, couldn’t they? 🙂 I have to say I love watching his hands when he is searching for things like in the Spooks 7 gif above. There is something about the way his fingers move over every nook and cranny that gets to me 😉 *sigh*

    Like

  4. Only for Richard Armitage will I voluntarily listen to a commercial. A commercial that I have to listen to *another* commercial not featuring Mr. Armitage in order to hear. 😀

    Like

Leave a comment