Feel Flows

I don’t usually highlight current events but I like the balance and flow of this recent Desolation of Smaug L.A. premiere interview.

The interview starts mid-conversation with a winning fan and her proclamation that she’s a “bad Asian” for skipping school to be at the black carpet event. Richard assures her that she’s a “good Asian”…

what does that even mean?

Asians love Sci-Fi Fantasy?
Asians love Sci-Fi Fantasy?

Richard then turns on the boyish charm, saying that Thorin gets to “screw up in the best way possible” during Gandalf’s absence in the film. It almost seems like he’s holding back a giggle there! No need to refrain on our account, Richard.

*Cumberbatch is in my frame but no one is noticing!*
*Cumberbatch is in my frame but no one is noticing!*

Talk of the Barrel scene is next, which Richard describes as a washing machine-with v8 engine-fairground ride. A washing machine with a v8 engine? That sounds promising! Three days worth of laundry (which is usually how far behind I am) could get done in no time!

smiley_laundry

Of course at that speed, the clothes would probably get ruined, but no matter; more time for Richarding!

*I need a new avatar pic of my ass so I can comment on the blogs! they'll never guess it's really me...*
*I need a new avatar pic of my ass so I can comment on the blogs! they’ll never guess it’s really me…*

Speaking of fairground rides, why is there no Middle-Earth themed amusement park? If Harry Potter can charge unreasonable amounts of money to dine on turkey legs, why can’t Thorin?

Fish-in-a-Barrel?
Fish-in-a-Barrel?

Even I’d stand in line in the sweltering Florida heat for a chance to ride the barrels! I’d probably vomit afterwards but since Richard admitted to doing the same after filming scene #88, I could just pass it off as emulating my idol.

we have so much in common! *swoon*
we have so much in common! *swoon*

Next, Richard is asked: if you could play any other character in Tolkien’s world, who would it be and why? I did not expect his answer to be Smaug. It shouldn’t surprise me really, the way that Richard acts with his whole self. An opportunity to try his hand at performance-capture acting would probably be thrilling for him.

I'd really miss the "eye acting" though
I’d really miss the “eye acting” though

I found Richard’s reasoning for this answer interesting too, to come at it from the flip-side, inhabiting that which led to Thorin’s downfall.

when Smaug's coming is described as a Hurricane, It always sounds like Harlequin to me...clowns are scary too!
when Smaug’s coming is described as a Hurricane, It always sounds like Harlequin to me…clowns are scary too!

Personally, I’ve not had the desire to act as a quadruped for quite some time but I’m sure my kids would argue that I’ve mastered the “breathes fire” part expertly.

*pick up your clothes! put away your shoes!*
*pick up your clothes! put away your shoes!*

Cheeky Armitage shows himself when the Stoned Mirkwood scene is mentioned, pointing out the relevance in relation to the “relaxation of Marijuana laws in America at the moment” but Interview Richard steps in to cut the delivery short.

*move along, nothing to see here*
*move along, nothing to see here*

The interview ends with Richard explaining how playing Thorin taught him to own a sense of humility and honor. He also found himself questioning his own judgments , just as Thorin was forced to look at himself and change because of Bilbo.

tumblr_mn566ayIOL1qlhck1o4_250

Introspective, relatable Richard pwns!

tumblr_inline_mm83jhY0ng1qz4rgp

P.S. Orc-n-Shield?

23 thoughts on “Feel Flows

  1. Out of everything – I swear it – I am laughing hysterically at “I less-than-3” you! ❤ Mwah.

    Dead fish in a barrel. Real actors don't need that that kind of realism. Really, Peter, aren't you a little old for school boy pranks?! 😉

    Like

    1. I love the “less than three you” saying! when I first started out on the internet it took me ages before I realized that was supposed to be a heart! I was always like, “why do they keep using a sideways ice cream cone?” 😆

      Like

  2. I think when he told her she was a “good Asian” he was just trying to assuage her guilt. I hope she got to meet him inside the theater. It was great to see the surprise and joy on her face! The “less than three you” comes courtesy of sketchlavie, over on tumblr, in case any of your followers wants to know. She has created a series of “pick-up” lines for over a year. Some are Richard, some, his characters. She is also credited for coining the term “P.H.D.” as it pertains to our lovely man. Everyone should visit her blog because she is one of the cheekiest, most generous people in the Armitage Army. Thank you for posting this. It made me smile. 🙂

    Like

    1. yes, she said she was a bad Asian so he just counteracted with the good Asian comment. the “less than three you” pic was one of the first ones I saved in this fandom, though the phrase itself was well known to me before then from other places. I’m sure I visited sketchlavie’s site once upon a time (I used to be a silent lurker on yours too 😉 ) but I’ve fallen out of the habit lately; just not enough time for all of the Richarding I want to do! I’ve been reevaluating my fandom priorities though, so I hope to get back to “browsing” again soon.

      Like

  3. LOLOLOLOL!! Love this! Interview Richard, indeed. But he just can’t help himself. He always comes out with something surprising. Smaug?? Of course, but never thought of it. Love that man!

    Like

    1. The thing is, Marie, he’s already said he would have liked to have played Beorn and Dwalin! The only solution I see is for Richard to record an audio version of The Hobbit, but I imagine that Tolkien’s estate would say no.

      Like

Leave a comment