Hickory Dickory Dock

 

7e99476a-9cf3-499f-a6f1-a2cd811320eb

When I see pics from this photoshoot, I think a variety of things (all good) but what I always focus on are those Bell-Bottoms. A mouse could easily run up those jeans, I speak from experience…

Hickory Dickory Dock

the mouse ran up the clock

cf350e14-e8dc-4e39-be95-034fccabab31

When I was 19 and still living at home with my parents, I had a pet mouse.

Her name was Hershey because she was the color of Milk Chocolate πŸ˜€

My boyfriend at the time had a pet snake.

*I have a pet snake too...*

*I have a pet snake too…*

He bought me the mouse for Easter,

after I heard the feeder mice we bought at the pet store scream

when they were placed in the cage with the snake.

*Eeek!!*

*Eeek!!*

Hershey had babies but only one survived (she ate the others 😯 )

We named him Pat, after the character from a Saturday Night Live skit,

because we couldn’t tell what sex he was for the longest time πŸ˜‰

*if you take a peek under here, I guarantee you won't be confused*

*if you take a peek under here, I guarantee you won’t be confused*

One day while cleaning Pat’s cage I dropped him, after he bit me! 😑

My mother and I herded him behind a bookcase and hatched a plan to catch him: Mom would chase him out, while I trapped him in a small plastic trashcan. We didn’t share the plan with Pat, so he scurried right past me, of course πŸ™„

*send him my way, nothing can get past this smolder*

*send him my way, nothing can get past this smolder*

When he met the wall, he swiftly turned right back around

and into my floppy trouser leg, as I knelt on the floor.

*the suspense!*

*the suspense!*

I jumped up and proceeded to freak the freak out! The mouse didn’t stop running, he moved up my thigh and around to my backside! I was jumping around like a lunatic while my mother was reduced to a ball of laughter on the floor.

The clock struck one

the mouse ran down

ra02_SundayTimes

I stripped off those trousers, lightening quick!

with my leg rooted in the trashcan to catch the mouse on his way back down.

3c63127b-bcf9-4652-a649-af4b0452ae9c

 

It was at this point that I happened to catch a glimpse of the window,

where the paperboy was frozen in place

watching me jump around in my underwear with my foot in a trashcan.

*so that's where that dance came from!*

*so that’s where that dance came from!*

Hickory Dickory

Dock

Happy 100th Post!

Happy 100th Post!

36 thoughts on “Hickory Dickory Dock

  1. Cill says:

    This is the funniest thing I have read in ages. It was double ROFLMAO! πŸ˜€

    (On a geek note, it reminded me of something in Agatha Christie’s memoirs where one of the archaeologists wore zippered pjs to protect him from insects and night, but a mouse crawled into them and then the zipper jammed).

    Like

  2. *ahahahaha* brilliant story, Kel! Just the thing to ease us out of the old year and into the new. Loved your captions, too πŸ˜‰ A great way to celebrate your blogoversary. Congrats.

    Like

  3. asteraurora says:

    Happy blogiversary, 100 posts is a great effort Kelbel. Love the Harry Kennedy styles grins in this shoot, I can just imagine a mouse in starring role in a Vicar of Dibley episode.

    Like

  4. Bollyknickers says:

    Congratulations on 100 posts, Kelbel.

    We had a lovely little white mouse who gave birth to three babies- but we wondered if there had been some cross species naughtiness because the babies were ugly grey things with distinctly ratty features. I didn’t know what to do with them ( I’m vegetarian so giving them to the pet shop as snake food was out of the question) I sent my daughter into school with them for show and tell in desperation but even though a few kids wanted them, their mothers vetoed the gifts. In the end the problem was solved because the dog knocked the cage over, all three babies escaped ( mama stayed put) never to be seen again.

    Like

  5. augustick says:

    ROFL! Is there no story that you can’t illustrate with RA pics?! I was deeply moved by your mum’s reaction. It proves the point that whenever you’re in trouble your mum will always be there…laughing hysterically at your predicament.

    Like

    • my mom is notorious for laughing when people fall down. I remember several times as a kid falling down on the ice or whatever and my mom *trying* to help but not being able to b/c she was laughing too hard! in her defense, my family is pretty much like the 3 stooges, so she had a lot to laugh at πŸ˜›

      Like

  6. UG72110 says:

    Totally hilarious ! (er…not for you at that moment obviously). I love the witty captions too πŸ˜‰
    Congrats for your 100th post. πŸ˜€

    Like

  7. MaryJaneZigZag says:

    Why is it that our parents have amazing recall of our most embarrassing moments?! Just skipped over from Agzy’s blog roll & wanted to drop a line or 2 of encouragement & support πŸ™‚ Happy New Year!

    Like

  8. linda60 says:

    This is hysterical! You made me really, really laugh. Besides some of the pics are my all-time favourites. Good luck for your next 100!

    Like

    • thank you πŸ™‚
      there is never a dull moment with my mom & dad! my friends always tell me I should write a book about them but I wouldn’t know which stories to include, b/c it’s all “normal” to me πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

