Come Live With Me And Be My Love

Alphabet Movie challenge: day 3

Richard Armitage Character you would most like to meet

Answer: John Standring

c328c960-e6c6-43c0-b9c2-5a02585ef0da

I know he may not seem like much at first but we learn that there’s a sweet, caring, stand-up guy under that farmhand getup. I know the whole “small town out in the middle of nowhere” aspect is probably a turn off for some, but for me it adds a certain romanticism to it all…

Come Live With Me and Be My Love

by Christopher Marlowe

Come live with me and be my love,

and we will all the pleasures prove

"for her pleasure"
“for her pleasure”

That valleys, groves, hills, and fields,

woods, or steepy mountain yields.

*these stairs seem like a mountain, hurry up!*
*these stairs seem like a mountain, hurry up!*

And we will sit upon the rocks,

seeing the shepherds feed their flocks,

*I can keep you fed; I hope you don't mind Pub food*
*I can keep you fed; I hope you don’t mind Pub food*

By shallow rivers to whose falls

melodious birds sing madrigals.

*who told her she could sing? seriously*
*who told her she could sing? seriously*

And I will make thee beds of roses

and a thousand fragrant posies,

*do you want me to bring some Thistle home today?*
*do you want me to bring some Thistle home today?*

A cap of flowers, and a kirtle

embroidered all with leaves of myrtle;

*it was my mother's*
*it was my mother’s*

A gown made of the finest wool

which from our pretty lambs we pull;

*we'd make a great team*
*we’d make a great team*

Fair lined slippers for the cold,

with buckles of the purest gold;

"even though we ain't got money, I'm so in love with ya honey"
“even though we ain’t got money, I’m so in love with ya honey”

A belt of straw and ivy buds,

with coral clasps and amber studs:

*straw and ivy, that I can do!*
*straw and ivy, that I can do!*

And if these pleasures may thee move,

come live with me, and be my love.

90498699-ec0f-42c2-b284-477410adcd59

The shepherd’s swains shall dance and sing

for thy delight each May morning:

*it rains here...a lot*
*it rains here…a lot*

If these delights thy mind may move,

then live with me and be my love.

you had me at "come live with me"
you had me at “come live with me”

my idea of romance may differ from other’s…

(original question: what celebrity would you like to meet?

non-Armitage answer: Ewan McGregor)

7 thoughts on “Come Live With Me And Be My Love

      1. He has really grown on me. At first I wasn’t so much into the shy sweetness (it’s what I have at home and I want to whet the appetite with something new *ggg*), but he is just so decent and good…

        Like

  1. I love Standring too, and the sight of that multicolored 80s style jacket always makes me giggle. Enjoyed the Marlowe poem as well. Perfect!

    Like

    1. that slicked and “styled” hair always cracks me up 😀 you know he had a heck of a time trying to tame it, it would have been better if he just left it alone.

      Like

Leave a comment